Press "Enter" to skip to content

Auburn Symphony Celebrates Music from Mexico


Auburn symphony orchestra logo in black and whiteA new concert from Auburn Symphony Orchestra celebrates the music of Mexico. Viva México! is the latest concert in the Creatively Connected Orchestra Series. The performance premieres Thursday, May 6 at 7:30 PM at and will be available for free streaming through June 6, 2021.

This program recognizes three exquisite composers, all hailing from Mexico. Two works by Arturo Márquez are featured as well as pieces by Silvestre Revueltas and José Pablo Moncayo. Nearly all of the music performed derives from dance resulting in music that is exhilarating and joyful.


Arturo Márquez was born in 1950 in Alamos, Sonora Mexico. His music is often a fusion of Mexican nationalistic styles with classical composition techniques. He is most well-known for his interpretation of the dance form known as the danzon. In his music one can hear instrumental duets representing the dancing couples.

Silvestre Revueltas, like Márquez, attended the Conservatory of Music of Mexico as well as schooling in the United States. Revueltas frequently used competing musical ideas, be they melody or rhythm, and layered them on top of one another. The result is a very busy but brilliant and colorful palate for the ears.

José Pablo Moncayo was a percussionist, conductor, and composer born in Guadalajara, Mexico. His music was based on the popular dance music of the Veracruz area. Moncayo uses the rhythmic playfulness found in much of Mexican folk music to great effect.

Check regularly for updates including performances and links to learning and listening resources. On the Nature of Daylight is available for free streaming now through May 22. The Symphony is offering their concerts for free as a commitment to remain Creatively Connected to the community during this time.


More information is always available at or by calling the Auburn Symphony office at 253-887-7777.

The above is a press release from the Auburn Symphony Orchestra. The Auburn Examiner has not independently verified its contents. 

More from NewsMore posts in News »

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :