Press "Enter" to skip to content

House Unanimously Passes Legislation to Create Centralized Concussion Reporting System for High School Sports


A bill seeking to create a centralized reporting system for data relating to concussion rates in high school sports unanimously passed the state House of Representatives on Tuesday.

House Bill 2731 was authored by Rep. Morgan Irwin, R-Enumclaw.


Under the bill, beginning in the 2020-21 academic year, schools would report information about each head injury sustained during athletic and other activities to the Department of Health (DOH), thus creating a centralized system on data relating to concussion rates, patterns, trends and other relevant information.

“We should have the data to keep our young athletes healthy, safe, and active. Many school districts are making decisions to limit certain activities based on a small number of adverse events, not actual data,” said Irwin. “The goal is not to fundamentally change the sports our kids are participating in, but to conduct the sports in the safest manner possible.”

Irwin believes that having adequate data is important to better track any trends that need to be addressed to minimize future injuries using real data. House Bill 2731 heads to the Senate for further consideration.

The 60-day legislative session is scheduled to adjourn March 12.


Sponsors: Irwin, Doglio, Davis, Pollet, Leavitt

Roll Call
HB 2731
Student head injury reports
3rd Reading & Final Passage
Yeas: 97 Nays: 0 Absent: 0 Excused: 1
Voting Yea: Representatives Appleton, Barkis, Bergquist, Blake, Boehnke, Caldier, Callan, Chambers, Chandler, Chapman, Chopp, Cody, Corry, Davis, Dent, Doglio, Dolan, Duerr, Dufault, Dye, Entenman, Eslick, Fey, Fitzgibbon, Frame, Gildon, Goehner, Goodman, Graham, Gregerson, Griffey, Hansen, Harris, Hoff, Hudgins, Irwin, Jenkin, Johnson, J., Kilduff, Kirby, Klippert, Kloba, Kraft, Kretz, Leavitt, Lekanoff, Lovick, MacEwen, Macri, Maycumber, McCaslin, Mead, Morgan, Mosbrucker, Orcutt, Ormsby, Ortiz-Self, Orwall, Paul, Pellicciotti, Peterson, Pettigrew, Pollet, Ramel, Ramos, Riccelli, Robinson, Rude, Ryu, Santos, Schmick, Sells, Senn, Shea, Shewmake, Slatter, Smith, Springer, Steele, Stokesbary, Stonier, Sullivan, Sutherland, Tarleton, Thai, Tharinger, Valdez, Van Werven, Vick, Volz, Walen, Walsh, Wilcox, Wylie, Ybarra, Young, Jinkins
Voting Nay:
Excused: Representative DeBolt

The above is a press release from the office of Rep. Mortan Irwin (R-Enumclaw, 31st-LD). The Auburn Examiner has not independently verified its contents and encourages our readers to personally verify any information they find may be overly biased or questionable. 

More from PoliticsMore posts in Politics »
More from SportsMore posts in Sports »

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :